Music on RRR

Heard this on RRR yesterday:


Mimikry
 – Alva Noto & Blixa Bargeld; Audio CD

The track was “I wish I was a mole in the ground”, listen at  http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0042NEGJM/ref=dm_mu_dp_trk6

or the full thing from RRR’s website, the Trans Europa Express show at http://www.pbsfm.org.au/taxonomy/term/138/2012-01-10, starting at the 43rd minute.

Here are the words

I Wish I Was a Mole in the Ground I wish l was a mole in the ground. Yes, I wish I was a mole in the ground: 
'F I'se a mole in the ground, l'd root that mountain down, And I wish I was a mole in the ground. 
Oh, Kimpy wants a nine-dollar shawl. Yes, Kimpy wants a nine-dollar shawl; When I come o'er the hill with a forty-dollar bill, 'Tis "Baby, where you been so Iong?" 
I been in the pen so long. Yes, I been in the pen so long; l been in the pen with the rough and rowdy men. 'Tis "Baby, where you been so long?" 
I don't like a railroad man. No, l don't like a railroad man; 'Cause a railroad man they'll kill you when he can, And drink up your blood like wine. I wish I was a lizard in the spring. 
Ycs, l wish I was a l;zard in the spring; 'F I'se a lizard in the spring, I'd hear my darlin' sing, An' I wish l was a lizard in the spring. Come, Kimpy, let your hair roll down. 
Kimpy let your hair roll down; Let your hair roll down and your bangs curl around, Oh, Kimpy, let your hair roll down. l wish I was a mole in the ground. 
Yes, I wish I was a mole in the ground: 'F I'se a mole in the ground, I'd root that mountain down, An'I wish I was a mole in the ground. 
From Bascom Lamar Lunceford.
Leave a Reply

